Posted on 1 Comment

The Prosper Series by Lindsay Schuster

prosper series


A deeply moving, eloquently written YA drama…

In these deeply engrossing, poignant novels, Schuster not only gets deep inside the questions of faith in the wake of difficulties and the underlying security and burgeoning love of a deep friendship but also explores the struggles of four teenagers as they try to navigate through their young adult lives while dealing with mental and physical abuse, personal grief, and trauma. In Prosper, Schuster takes the reader into the lives of four high-school friends: Kaila, Amy, jenny, and Stephanie who have nothing else but faith and their friendship as they try to deal with their personal traumas: Kaila is broken after her parents’ tragic death; Amy is struggling with her alcoholic father’s violent outbursts; Jenny is trying to be a mother to her younger brothers and verbally abusive father; and Stephanie is at the brink of despair after forever dealing with her mother’s addictions. In Redeemed, the four friends are about to graduate, and take their first step toward adulthood, but know they are ill-equipped to deal with their personal griefs. In Journey, the girls have already left behind most of their adolescent insecurities and fears, but are faced with different kinds of hardship as adults. Schuster’s lyrical prose neither ventures into sentimentality not it strays from what her characters are feeling. Her gift for getting into the heads of her large cast of characters, damaged or normal, make this a deeply poignant read. Kaila is depicted as a young woman of complex moods who is always trying to do right by the ones close to her even if it means risking her own life. Amy is equally compelling with her deep-set insecurities and fear of losing someone close to her. Jenny’s constant struggles with her distrust of men is portrayed with precision and skill. The other characters, Justin, Ricky, Aiden, and Jonah are equally well-drawn and psychologically deep, but the most engaging are the young women, and it’s their struggles that provide the major conflict in the story. By the end of the third novel, the reader feels wonder that the four damaged girls were able to achieve so much in life despite their dire circumstances. A story of perseverance and faith, the series is a must read for both Christian readers and lovers of YA contemporary.

Note: The series is free on Kindle Unlimited.


The Prosper Series

By Lindsay Schuster

Pub date July 4, 2020

Buy now


Prosper: Book 1

Price $14.80 (USD) Paperback, $4.99 Kindle edition


Redeemed: Book 2

Price $14.80 (USD) Paperback, $4.99 Kindle edition


Journey: Book 3

Price $20.80 (USD) Paperback, $4.99 Kindle edition

1 thought on “The Prosper Series by Lindsay Schuster

Leave a Reply