Posted on Leave a comment

The Deadly Crocus (Falling Sky Book 1) by E. T. Ellison

Pure madcap fun…

Award-winning Ellison’s series kicker in the Falling Sky series is a thrilling ride, featuring a winning mix of dystopia, fantasy, and hard SF. When the first skyfall blasts a huge hole in the lively planetoid of Hallah, home to a number of delightfully odd creatures, setting it on a path of destruction, the naive Queen of Niceness, Glix Larue, unwittingly becomes the planetoid’s savior. But there’s a lot Glix needs to learn first if she wants to save her lands. Ellison’s storytelling is brilliant, and he is effortless when it comes to establishing his characters. Readers will cheer Glix on the whole way. The assured prose maintains a steady pace while effectively grounding fantasy and dystopian elements into the narrative. The novel’s action comes in exhilarating bursts, from Glix’s harrowing journey across unfamiliar terrains to new revelations coming to surface, unraveling the backstory behind Hallah’s gradual destruction. Despite the story’s freighting milieus, they’re neither graphic nor excessively violent. The climax will raise readers’ fervor for the next installment. Impossible to put down.

The Deadly Crocus

(Falling Sky Book 1)

By E. T. Ellison

Clownbox Press

Buy now

Pub date August 19, 2021

ISBN 978-1734803617

Price $13.99 (USD) Paperback, $4.40 Kindle edition

Leave a Reply