Posted on Leave a comment

Killer Deception (Kathy Hamilton Mystery Book 1) by Maggie Casteen

A layered and nuanced mystery…

Casteen kicks start her Kathy Hamilton Mystery series with this taut, fast-paced installment. When Marcie Brooks, a bereaved widow, hires Kathy to look into the recent theft of a family heirloom, Kathy doesn’t think much about the case. But as she begins her investigation, the shocking truth about John Brooks’s suspicious death a few months ago comes to surface, changing Kathy’s perspective about the whole case. Kathy must tread carefully as the killer is still lurking in the shadow. Casteen adeptly weaves together an intricate plot and complex, multifaceted characters. The novel opens with the seemingly straightforward theft investigation and deftly maintains its intensity and brisk pace, with new revelations unfolding relentlessly. Casteen’s expert characterization allows her to explore her characters’ anxieties and insecurities which ultimately makes this novel’s ending all the more satisfying as the narratives move swiftly toward its ending. Great storytelling, a feisty heroine, and a tight plot make this a must-read for suspense-thriller fans.

Killer Deception

Kathy Hamilton Mystery Book 1

By Maggie Casteen

Buy now

Pub date December 14, 2020

ISBN 9781098348809

Price $15.99 (USD) Paperback, $3.08 Kindle edition

Leave a Reply