Posted on Leave a comment

When Bodies Fall (Maggie Dunn Books Book 2) by Deborah Court

An entertaining blend of suspense and intrigue…

Set in Scotland, Court’s deeply engrossing second installment in the Maggie Dunn Books finds Jane in the middle of a murder investigation. Trying to escape the forces who want to study her for her hidden genetic anomalies with their secret of eternal youth, Jane Emily Daniels takes a new identity as Maggie Dunn and flees Canada, seeking refuge in the beautiful Island of Skye in Scotland to begin life afresh. But Maggie’s dream of a quiet life shatters soon when a person is found brutally murdered, and she becomes a person of interest in the police investigation. Trying to maintain the life she has built while protecting her secret identity, Maggie must make a choice soon. Fans of cozy will find plenty of atmospheric details, and Court’s assured prose and fine descriptive powers make sure the reader stays invested throughout. She expertly uses every device in the book from her character’s individual struggles to shared happiness, from subtle twists to sudden shocks. Uncertainty of the future doesn’t make life easier to bear for Maggie who is already mourning the loss of her old life. Court’s expert storytelling brings authenticity to Maggie’s story as a woman trying to come to terms with her new life as a scientific miracle whose DNA may hold the secrets of eternal youth and Michael and Alison’s struggles to find their own place in the world. Well-paced, acutely observed, and sophisticated, this is a must-read. Readers will be eager for the next installment.

Note: This title is free on Kindle Unlimited.

When Bodies Fall

(Maggie Dunn Books Book 2)

By Deborah Court

Buy now

Pub date September 16, 2020

ISBN 9798686805637

Price $12.00 (USD) Paperback, $3.00 Kindle edition

Leave a Reply